Wind Chill Advisory and Winter Weather Advisory in effect


Posted on: January 2nd, 2018 by [email protected] No Comments

WIND CHILL ADVISORY IN EFFECT UNTIL 9 AM EST /8 AM CST/ WEDNESDAY…WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 4 PM EST /3 PM CST/ WEDNESDAY TO 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ FRIDAY…

* WHAT…Lake effect snow expected. Very cold wind chills expected. Plan on difficult travel conditions, including during the morning commute on Thursday. Total snow accumulations of 4 to 8 inches, with localized amounts up to 1 foot, are expected.
Expect wind chills to range from 5 below zero to 20 below zero.

* WHERE…La Porte, St. Joseph IN and Elkhart Counties.

* WHEN…For the Winter Weather Advisory, from 4 PM EST /3 PM CST/ Wednesday to 7 AM EST /6 AM CST/ Friday. For the Wind Chill Advisory, until 9 AM EST /8 AM CST/ Wednesday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS…Be prepared for reduced visibilities at times. The cold wind chills will cause frostbite in as little as 30 minutes to exposed skin.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

A Winter Weather Advisory for lake effect snow means lake effect snow is forecast that will make travel difficult in some areas.  Use caution when traveling.

A Wind Chill Advisory means that cold air and the wind will combine to create low wind chills. Frost bite and hypothermia can occur if precautions are not taken. Make sure you wear a hat and gloves.



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.