2 La Porte County Studens Chosen for Scholarships from the Unity Foundation

Posted on: December 24th, 2018 by [email protected] No Comments

Two outstanding La Porte County students have been named recipients of full tuition, four-year scholarships as Unity Foundation of La Porte County 2019 Lilly Endowment Community Scholars.
Lily Carmel and Abigail Roberts will receive tuition to an accredited public or private Indiana college or university of their choice, and an annual $900 stipend for required books and equipment.
Lily Carmel will graduate with academic honors from New Prairie High School, having taken several advanced placement and honors courses. She has demonstrated leadership and initiative through her consistent involvement in school, community, and faith related activities. She is an active member of the National Honor Society, has shown leadership as a camp counselor, and has played in regional community bands. She is section leader in her high school marching band. Lily is a 10 year member of 4H. She looks forward to pursuing a career as a teacher. Abigail Roberts will graduate from La Porte High School with an academic honors diploma, including having taken several dual credit and advanced placement level courses. Abigail has participated in the Mayor’s Youth Council and Principal’s Advisory Council. She is an active member of National Honor Society, Girls Reserves, and Student Council; she also volunteers in a variety of programs. Abigail competes in swimming and dance and also works part-time. Abigail plans to pursue a career as a physician’s assistant. For more information, please visit www.uflc.net or call 219-879-0327.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.